Program of the Conference

Wednesday, October 15 2003

09:00 AM Opening Plenary Session

Welcome Address
Opening Plenary Session
Click image to enlarge
09:00-10:00 AM Representative of Greek government (pending)

John Henshaw, Assistant Secretary, US Occupational Safety and Health Administration
  Berhard Jansen, European Commission, Director, Employment and Social Affairs

Representative of local administration (pending)
10:00-10:15 AM EU (Labor) Marc Sapir, Director, European Trade Union Technical Bureau for Health and Safety
10:15-10:30 AM US (Labor) William Kojola, Industrial Hygienist, AFL - CIO
10:30-10:45 AM EU (Industry) Janet Asherson, Head of Environmental Affairs (CBI)
10:45-11:00 AM US (Industry) Frank White, Vice President, Organization Resources Counselors, Inc (ORC)
11:00-11:15 AM Coffee break
Keynotes Addresses
11:15 AM Jose Ramon Biosca De Sagastuy, European Commission, Head of Unit, Health, safety and hygiene at work
11:30 AM Kathleen M. Rest, Deputy Director, US National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
US/EU Remarks and demonstration
Questions and Answers

Cheryle Greenaugh, Director, Directorate of Information Technology,Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
Hans-Horst Konkolewsky, Director of the European Agency for Safety and Health at Work


1:00 - 2:45 PM Lunch
  -Concurrent Workgroup Sessions 02:45-06:00 PM
(Coffee break: 04:15-04:30)
Theme Setting
02:45 - 03:00 PM EU/US
06:00 PM EU Delegates Session
08:30 PM Social Event
08:15 - 09:15 AM Breakfast meeting (EU/US Steering Committee, Chairs and Scribes)
09:30 - 09:45 AM Plenary Session
  -Concurrent Workgroup Sessions 09:45-01:00 PM
(Coffee break: 01:00-11:15 AM)
Theme Setting
09:45 - 10:00 AM EU/US
01:00 - 02:45 Lunch
  -Concurrent Workgroup Sessions 02:45-06:00 PM
(Coffee break: 04:15- 04:30 AM)
06:00 PM EU Delegates Session
US Delegates Session
08:30 PM Official dinner
FRIDAY, October 17, 2003
08:15 - 09:15 AM Breakfast meeting (EU/US Steering Committee, Chairs and Scribes)
09:15 - 09:30 AM Plenary Session
09:30 - 11:15 AM Concurrent Workgroup Meetings to finalize Plenary Reports
11:00 - 11:15 AM Coffee break
Closing Plenary Session 11:15 AM - 01:00 PM
Presentation of Topic Reports Closing Plenary Session
Click image to enlarge
11:15 AM Topic I: Chemicals in the workplace

Chair EU: Torben Jepsen , Danish Employers Confederation
Co-chair US: WIlliam Kojola, Industrial Hygienist, AFL-CIO
Scribe US: Melinda Pon, Chief, Coal Health Group
11:30 AM Topic II: Stress and its relationship to organizational changes and improvement of the work environment

Chair EU: Raili Perimäki-Dietrich, Central Organization of Finnish Trade Unions (SAK)
Co-chair US: Joseph J. Hurrell Jr., PhD, National Institute of Safety and Health
Scribe US: Marina Provatas, OSHA Division of Internal Affairs
11:45 AM Topic III: Quantitative and qualitative indicators - Monitoring and Evaluation

Chair US: John R. Caylor, Deputy Assistant Secretary, Mine Safety and Health Administration
Co-chair EU: Bertil Remaeus, Deputy Director General, Sweedish Work Environment Authority
Scribe EU: Eric Jannerfeldt, Director Sverski Närlngsliv
12:00 PM Topic IV: Partnerships:

Chair US: Frank White, Vice president, Organization Resources Counselors, Inc.
Co-chair EU: Tom Beegan, Director, Health and Safety Authority, Ireland
Scribe EU: Jim Keyes, Chief Executive, Health and safety Executive (pending)
12:00 - 12:15 Questions and Answers
12:15 - 12:30 Closing Remarks

Bernhard Jansen, European Commission, Director, Employment and Social Affairs
Leo Carey, Executive Director Government Services, US National Safety Council, Inc. (NSC)
12:30 Close and farewell drink
01:15 PM Luncheon - EU/US Steering Committee
Afternoon Excursion around the Island of Lemnos for those interested